RadioProfile | 24 hours of Le Mans: the most important endurance race in the world

The first edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans was run on May 26, 1923.

The most specific endurance motorsport race in the world never tests cars, mechanics and drivers like any other.

Le Mans originated during the Grand Prix era, the first automobile competitions that emerged in France and developed in different European countries.

It takes place in the semi-permanent circuit of the Sarthe (La sart), located in the French city of Le Mans.

The circuit is 13,626 meters long and has 38 curves. The race lasts literally 24 hours and the team that manages to cover the greatest amount of distance during the allotted time is declared the winner.

Currently, each team has three drivers who share the same car and take turns approximately every two hours. No driver can run more than 14 hours in the entire competition, nor can they exceed four consecutive hours of driving.

The 24 Hours of Le Mans were held for the first time between May 26 and 27, 1923. Since then they have been run annually and were only discontinued during World War II.

The competition is organized by the Automobile Club of the West, the most important automobile entity in France, and is regulated by the FIA.

Its rules have evolved over time, especially in terms of safety, after the 1955 accident known as “The Le Mans disaster”.

In that edition, and as a result of a multiple collision, the car of Frenchman Pierre Levegh (LEVÉG) took off from the track and exploded against the stands. 83 spectators and the pilot lost their lives in the greatest tragedy in motorsport history

Juan Manuel Fangio was the protagonist of the race and experienced firsthand the moment of the accident. – Fangio tells it from 00:30 to 00:57

The 24 hours of Le Mans is considered one of the most famous races in the world and is part of the Triple Crown of Motorsports, along with the Monaco Grand Prix of Formula 1 and the Indianapolis 500 in IndyCar. (INDIAN CAR)

Only Britain’s Graham Hill will manage to win all three, in an honor not officially recognized.

17 Argentine drivers have suffered throughout history in the 24 hours of Le Mans and only two have become champions: Froilán González in 1954 and José María López in 2021. – Pechito López’s triumph story 11:33 to 11:46

The first edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans was run on May 26, 1923.

by Radio Profile

image gallery

in this note